Two wedding rings sitting on top of a prenuptial agreement.

How Long Do You Have to Wait After a Divorce to Get Remarried in Florida?

In the aftermath of a divorce, some people remain single for a while and others begin a new romance right away. Every situation is different and there’s no perfect way to deal with the end of your marriage or move on to the next chapter of your life.

Those who find new love immediately following their divorce may be thinking about remarriage. However, in some states there is a waiting period before people can get remarried after a divorce. For instance, in Texas, you must wait 30 days after your divorce is finalized before you can get married again.

Does Florida Have a Waiting Period Before You Can Get Remarried After a Divorce?

In Florida, you don’t have to wait to get remarried after a divorce. There is no waiting period to remarry after your divorce is finalized. However, there is a three-day waiting period after your marriage license is issued before you and your new partner can marry. Other requirements you will need to meet before you get remarried after a divorce in Florida include:

  • Provide proof you’re 18 years of age
  • Provide proof of your annulment or divorce
  • Get married within 60 days of your marriage license being issued

To learn about Orshan, Spann & Fernandez-Mesa, and what we can do to help you with a wide range of family law issues, such as prenuptial agreements, check out our clients’ reviews.

For more information about divorce in Florida, or to speak with our experienced divorce lawyers in Miami about your situation, give us a call at (305) 853-9161 or contact us online today.